Good assembler for Genesis?

Hello,

I've already made some ROMs for NES,SNES and SMS, and would like to do something for Genesis. I use WLA for SMS and SNES, and I suppose it also works for Genesis. But, do you guys recomend another assembler for Genesis??

Thanks

C works well considering speed??

In SNES, for example, coding in ASM is a must, since code would be too slow if compiling instead of coding directly in ASM.

I'm new in Genesis. Can you make good code in C?

The SNES CPU architecture is really not well-suited for C (few registers and not orthogonal at all), and is somewhat slow as well. I wouldn't try to write a Gunstar Heroes killer in C, but Genesis can handle less intensive stuff in C pretty reasonably.

I think Vectorman used C (read about it in an interview with the devs) so you can definetaly put together some extreme games with it on the Megadrive.

That's great. C code is faster to write and easier to debug.

Any compiler in particular recomended for Genesis?

I heard of SGCC and GCC.

I heard SGCC is easier to use, but has bugs?

Go with XGCC, especially if you've done some C before. It will save you some headaches later. I think SGCC is a bit easier to start with if you haven't done a lot of C, but once you have the bugs and limitations will drive you nuts.

Go with XGCC :>.

Originally posted by patroclus02@Wed, 2006-02-08 @ 10:51 PM

That's great. C code is faster to write and easier to debug.

Any compiler in particular recomended for Genesis?

I heard of SGCC and GCC.

I heard SGCC is easier to use, but has bugs?

[post=144228]Quoted post[/post]​

yes, it's very good ;)

for proof, look at my works, everything was done in C

it's not Gunstar Heroes' killer but I think enought for homebrew demos

Personally I prefer GCC, since I also use it for many other processors, which makes it easy to go from one machine to another.

Originally posted by patroclus02@Wed, 2006-02-08 @ 03:41 AM